Holidays in 2007

Anyone who has ever been involved in scheduling knows the importance of National Holidays, and the troubles (and sometimes blessings) they bring about in our carefully laid out plans if we dont consult a calendar first. Since the govt. has been kind enough to publish a list of holidays this year, i thought i’d share them with everyone here. Just keep them in mind the next time ur planning a meeting or a vacation.

National Holidays
Kashmir Day, Monday February 5;
Pakistan Day, Friday 23 March;
Labour Day, Tuesday, May 1;
Independence Day, Tuesday; August 14,
Iqbal Day, Friday, Nov 9;
Quaid-e-Azam Day/Christmas, Tuesday, December 25.

For Muslims:
Eid-ul-Azha, Monday and Tuesday, January 1 and 2;
Ashura, 9th to 10th Muharram, Saturday & Sunday, January 27 & 28;
Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi (PBUH) (12th Rabi-ul-Awwal 1428), Saturday, March 31;
Eid-ul-Fitr, Thursday, Friday & Saturday, October 11 to 13;
Eid-ul-Azha, Tuesday & Wednesday, Dec 18 & 19, and

(Holidays for other faiths are listed after the jump)

Hindus: Holi on Saturday, March 3; Janam Ashtami on Tuesday, September 4; Durga Puja on Saturday, October 20; Dussehra on Sunday, October 21, and Diwali on Friday, November 9.

Balamikes: Birthday of Guru Balamik Swamiji on Friday, October 26.

Christians: Good Friday on April 6; Easter on Sunday, April 8; Day after Christmas on Wednesday, December 26.

Parsis: Parsis New Year Day (Nauroz) on August 20; Birthday of Khordadsai Lord Zoraster on August 25.

Buddhists: Bhudda Purinama on Wednesday, May 2.

Sikhs: Guru Nanak’s Birthday on Saturday, November 24.

2 Comments so far

  1. A for [pine]Apple (unregistered) on January 12th, 2007 @ 3:23 pm

    Haaa … aagay hi kaam ka dil nahi kar raha upar say aisi posts :”>

    Good round up for the yr … since the revision of national holidays – its hard remembering all of them now …!


  2. A for [pine]Apple (unregistered) on January 18th, 2007 @ 5:14 pm

    Ashura, 9th to 10th Muharram, Saturday & Sunday, January 27 & 28;

    U got me all scared that how cum the much awaited LONG WEEKEND’s killed by you … correct the record :-)



Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.